Attention high school and college students...

Are you planning a career in newspapers? Apply for a scholarship today! The Iowa Newspaper Foundation offers a limited number of college scholarships for students preparing for careers in the newspaper industry. See your high school guidance counselor for more information or complete an online application at Application deadline: February 16, 2024
To learn more about a career in newspapers or these scholarships, contact this newspaper or the Iowa Newspaper Foundation.

You will be asked for two references and a personal statement. One reference must be from a teacher and one from a counselor. You will also be asked to upload two work samples with your application. 

Scholarship ad_2024


Download our scholarship add and help spread the word to future journalists in your community by running it in your newspaper!


Carter Pitts Scholarships

The Le Mars Daily Sentinel funds an annual Carter Pitts scholarship in the amount of $500. The scholarship is named for the Daily Sentinel’s longtime publisher/owner. The late Carter Pitts was also the first president of the Iowa Newspaper Foundation and the organization’s first professional fundraiser. In addition, the Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Fund generates an annual scholarship. The amount of the award will be determined in early 2024.

INF Scholarships

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation will award scholarships to Iowa students preparing for an Iowa newspaper career at in-state colleges or universities.

Woodward Scholarship

Funded by a contribution from Woodward Communications, Inc. An annual scholarship award will go to a student studying journalism, communications, mass communications, photojournalism, graphic design, marketing or public relations at a college or university in Iowa, Illinois, or Wisconsin. The amount of each Woodward scholarship will be based on fund earnings and will be determined in early 2024.

Shaw Scholarship

Funded by a contribution from Shaw Newspapers. An annual scholarship award will go to an incoming college freshman preparing for a journalism or communications career at an accredited two or four-year college or university in the United States.

This scholarship is awarded to students who are dependents of men or women who work for Iowa newspapers. The amount of each Shaw scholarship will be based on fund earnings and will be determined in early 2024.

Iowa Journalism Institute Scholarships

Funded by a contribution from Michael Gartner and Gary Gerlach of Des Moines, the IJI will award scholarships to up to two students enrolled in Iowa State University’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. These scholarships will be given in the name of the late David W. Belin, longtime business partner of Gerlach and Gartner.

The balance of available IJI funds will be used to provide scholarships to students interested in Iowa community newspaper careers and who are enrolled in an accredited undergraduate or graduate program in newspaper journalism (or a closely related field) at any college or university in the nation.

The amount of each scholarship is based on IJI endowment fund earnings and will be determined in early 2024.

Morlan Scholarship

The Morlan Scholarship is funded by long-time newspaper publishers and owners, Frank and Sally Morlan. The scholarship will award an Iowa high school senior, from a city or community of fewer than 10,000, enrolling in a two-year or four-year journalism program at an Iowa institution of higher learning or a student already enrolled in an Iowa institution of higher learning.

Questions on Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships? Contact Jana Shepherd at or 515-422-9051.