INF awards ten scholarships for 2016-17

Ten Iowa students have been selected as recipients of Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year.  The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for a career in the newspaper industry.

This year’s awards and recipients include-

Carter Pitts/Le Mars Daily Sentinel Scholarship, $500: Vivian Le will graduate from Waukee High School and attend the University of Iowa.

Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Award, $500: Hannah McNichols from Des Moines North High School will attend the University of Iowa following graduation.

Iowa Journalism Institute Scholarship, $1,000: Graduate of South Tama County High School, Sydney Upah is currently attending Iowa State University.

David W. Belin Scholarship, $1,000: Luke Manderfeld graduated from Northfield High School and is currently attending Iowa State University.

Iowa Newspaper Foundation Scholarship, $500: A graduate of Maquoketa Valley Senior High School, Jenna Reeves is currently attending Iowa State University.

E. K. Shaw Scholarship, $1,200: Gabrielle Leitner, Dubuque Senior High School, will attend the University of Northern Iowa following graduation.

Fred W. Woodward Scholarship, $500: Savannah Eadens will graduate from Newton High School and attend Columbia College in Chicago.

Iowa College Media Association Scholarship, $500: Olivia Samples is currently attending Simpson College. She is a graduate of the Community School of Davidson  

Morlan Scholarship, $1,000: Mayra Hernandez-Garcia will attend Iowa Central Community College following graduation from BGM High School.

Robert K. and Evelyn M. Reiste Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Macey Spensley is currently attending the University of Iowa. She is a graduate of Monticello High School.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation received more than 80 applications for the ten scholarships. 

Questions on Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships? Contact Jana Shepherd at or 515-422-9051.

The INF will offer scholarships for students again next year. Check back in the fall for application materials.

Scholarships given annually include:

Robert K. and Evelyn M. Reiste Memorial Scholarship
Funded by the Reiste family, this scholarship is awarded to an Iowa student attending a two or four-year Iowa college or university. The student must be majoring in photojournalism or journalism/mass communications. Preference will be given to students who have special interest in small town newspapers via family business or work. One $1,000 scholarship will be awarded.

Carter Pitts Scholarships
The Le Mars Daily Sentinel funds an annual Carter Pitts scholarship in the amount of $500. The scholarship is named for the Daily Sentinel’s longtime publisher/owner. The late Carter Pitts was also the first president of the Iowa Newspaper Foundation and the organization’s first professional fundraiser.

In addition, the Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Fund generates an annual scholarship. The amount of the award will be determined in early 2016.

INF Scholarships
The Iowa Newspaper Foundation will award scholarships to Iowa students preparing for an Iowa newspaper career at in-state colleges or universities.

Woodward Scholarship
Funded by a contribution from Woodward Communications, Inc. An annual scholarship award will go to a student studying journalism, communications, mass communications, photojournalism, graphic design, marketing or public relations at a college or university in Iowa, Illinois, or Wisconsin. The amount of each Woodward scholarship will be based on fund earnings and will be determined in early 2016..

Shaw Scholarship
Funded by a contribution from Shaw Newspapers. An annual scholarship award will go to an incoming college freshman preparing for a journalism or communications career at an accredited two or four-year college or university in the United States.

This scholarship is awarded to students who are dependents of men or women who work for Iowa newspapers. The amount of each Shaw scholarship will be based on fund earnings and will be determined in early 2016.

Iowa Journalism Institute Scholarships
Funded by a contribution from Michael Gartner and Gary Gerlach of Des Moines, the IJI will award scholarships to up to two students enrolled in Iowa State University’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. These scholarships will be given in the name of the late David W. Belin, longtime business partner of Gerlach and Gartner.

The balance of available IJI funds will be used to provide scholarships to students interested in Iowa community newspaper careers and who are enrolled in an accredited undergraduate or graduate program in newspaper journalism (or a closely related field) at any college or university in the nation.

The amount of each scholarship is based on IJI endowment fund earnings and will be determined in early 2016.

Morlan Scholarship
The Morlan Scholarship is funded by long-time newspaper publishers and owners, Frank and Sally Morlan. The scholarship will award an Iowa high school senior, from a city or community of fewer than 10,000, enrolling in a two-year or four-year journalism program at an Iowa institution of higher learning or a student already enrolled in an Iowa institution of higher learning.

Application notes
• The INF Scholarship Committee, when reviewing applications, will consider all applications that qualify for each of the scholarships offered. It is not necessary to apply for a specific scholarship award.
• Application materials are sent to all high school guidance offices in Iowa and can also be obtained from the Iowa Newspaper Foundation.
• The deadline for applications is February 12, 2016. Awards will be announced by May 1, 2016. All applicants will be notified by mail.
• Proceeds for all scholarships awarded by the Iowa Newspaper Foundation will be paid directly to the college or university. Each scholarship granted will be for the upcoming academic year and not on an ongoing basis. Students, however, may apply for and may qualify for scholarships in subsequent years.

For more information, see your guidance counselor or contact the Iowa Newspaper Foundation at (515) 244-2145 ext. 159.


INA members, click here to download an ad to run in your newspaper promoting INF scholarships.