

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

$^{ ext{-}}$ 2025 Nomination form -

The INA Distinguished Service Award is presented each year at the association's annual convention to the individual(s) in the state who, in the opinion of the selection committee, best meet(s) the following criteria:

- 1. The nominee must be an employee or former employee of or contributor to an lowa newspaper or associated with a university, college or newspaper association having close ties with lowa newspapers;
- 2. The nominee shall have contributed greatly to his or her newspaper, and/or to his or her community and or the newspaper industry in general;
- 3. Longevity should have little effect on the nominee's qualifications;
- 4. Individuals who have received the INA's Master Editor-Publisher award are not eligible for Distinguished Service Award.

I nominate the following individual for	consideration by the selection committee to receive the INA Distinguished Service Award
Name:	Newspaper:
	Nominated by:
Name:	Newspaper:
Email:	Phone Number:
	Please include all relevant support materials.

This award is open to all members of the newspaper staff! Potential candidates might be advertising directors, circulation managers, back shop superintendents and press operators, as well as news and sports editors, publishers and business managers.

The award is one of the most prestigious awards given to newspaper professionals in Iowa. The selection committee of past winners is instructed to be very demanding. The award(s) will be presented at the Past Presidents' Luncheon during the INA Convention on February 13, 2025.

Nominations not selected will also be considered in 2025 and 2026. Some people may have been nominated for this award in the past but did not receive it due to a lack of information about the nominee. Nominators should feel free to re-nominate such individuals and include more details about their qualifications.

Contributions should be over a period of time and all three areas (newspaper, community and industry) are considered.

A complete nomination will include the following:

- A letter of support from the nominator
- Basic resume of the nominee's service to the newspaper and the community
- Additional letters of support from community members, co-workers or others
- Other materials that support the nominee's application

DEADLINE FOR NOMINATION: JULY 31, 2024

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE

AWARD WINNERS

1982

Frank Nye, Cedar Rapids Gazette Matt Lawrence, Ottumwa Courier Paul Norris, Marshalltown Times-Republican

1984

Donald Lundgren, Clinton Herald Les Moeller, Iowa City Daily Iowan Al Efner, Ottumwa Courier

1985

J. Burl Tiedemann, Adel Dallas County News Harry Mauck Jr., Council Bluffs Nonpareil Esther Williams, Vinton Cedar Valley Daily Times

1986

John McCormally, Burlington Hawk Eye Harold Roberts, Creston News Advertiser Max Maxon, Webster City Freeman Journal

1987

Frederick Simpson, Atlantic News-Telegraph Bill Kunerth, Iowa State University Harold Bailey, Perry Chief

1988

Hollis Nordyke, Ames Tribune L. Jay Smith, Fort Dodge Messenger Jackson Baty, University of Northern Iowa

1989

David Kruidenier, Des Moines Register Herb Strentz, Drake University Lois Jacobs, Marshalltown Times-Republican Cal Olson, Sioux City Journal

1990

Genevieve Mauck Stoufer, Council Bluffs Rick Morain, Jefferson Herald Rosalie Johnson, Eldridge North Scott Press Helen Zogg, Eldridge North Scott Press

1991

Dale Kueter, Cedar Rapids Gazette Oline Stigers, Cedar Rapids Gazette Harrison 'Skip" Weber, INA Ron Slechta, Tama News-Herald

1992

Robert Woodward, Drake University Phyllis Fleming, Cedar Rapids Gazette William Zima, University of Iowa

1993

Larry Johnson, Fort Dodge Messenger Al Pinder, Grinnell Herald-Register Carolyn Cole Gage, Villisca Review

1994

Beth Dalbey, Adel Dallas County News Ken Robinson, Bayard News-Gazette Brian Cooper, Dubuque Telegraph Herald Jerry Moriarity, Mason City Globe-Gazette

1995

Bill Mertens, Burlington Hawk Eye Richard Goughnour, Mediapolis News Joe Roth, Hampton Newspapers David Johnson, West Branch Times

1996

Dave Paxton, Albia Newspapers Mary Lou Hinrichsen, DeWitt Observer Shirley Omer, Primghar O'Brien Co. Bell

1997

Mark Bowden, Cedar Rapids Gazette Harold Aardema, Doon Press Margaret VanderWeerdt, Sully Diamond Trail News

Gene Bloom, Woodbine Twiner (posthumous)

1998

Marni Mellen, Fairfield Daily Ledger Jay Mohr, Sibley Osceola Co. Gazette Tribune (posthumous)

Tom Johnson, Waukon Standard Merle Kent Shawd, Woodward NE Dallas Co. Record

1999

Gary Spurgeon, Bloomfield Democrat James Flansburg, Des Moines Register Tom Emmerson, Iowa State University Jack Marlowe, Maquoketa Sentinel Press

2000

Dave Storey, Cedar Rapids Gazette LeAnn Pisarik, Mount Vernon-Lisbon Sun Dr. Kenneth Starck, University of Iowa

2001

Jack Crook, Knoxville Journal-Express Barb Lyon, Mapleton Press Jim Magdefrau, Newspapers of Benton Co.

2002

Paul Gauthier, Corning-Adams Co. Free Press Jay P. Wagner, Des Moines Business Record Gil Cranberg, Des Moines Register George Mills, Des Moines Register

2003

Michael Gartner, Des Moines Walt Stevens, Fort Dodge Messenger Bill Casey, Iowa City Daily Iowan Edward "Mike" Lyon, Mapleton Press

2004

Don Magdefrau, Belle Plaine Union Tom Yunt, Dubuque Telegraph Herald Amy Duncan, Indianola Record-Herald & Tribune Karen Young, Seymour Herald

2005

Mark Wicks, Charles City Press Connie White, Creston News Advertiser Drake Mabry, Des Moines Register / Ames Tribune Gary Alban, Ogden Reporter

2006

Ron Schuety, Altoona Herald-Mitchellville Index Randy Evans, Des Moines Register LeAnn Larson, West Union Fayette County Union

2007

Bob Andersen, Elkader Clayton County Register Wayne Davis, Seymour Herald

2008

Terry Wilson, Davenport Quad-City Times Bill Wundram, Davenport Quad-City Times Bill Tubbs, Eldridge North Scott Press Sharon Alban, Ogden Reporter

2009

Mary Rueter, DeWitt Observer Jo Martin, Iowa Falls Times-Citizen Jay Luther, Iowa Falls Times-Citizen

2010

Jim Normandin, Dubuque Telegraph Herald Alan Mores, Harlan Newspapers Jeff Grant. Sheldon N'West Iowa Review

2011

Bill Monroe, Iowa Newspaper Association

2012

Chuck Offenburger, Des Moines Register Kathleen Richardson, Drake University Norma Thurman, Stuart Herald

2013

Barbara Mack, Iowa State University (posthumous) Max Heath, National Newspaper Association Keith Luchtel, Nyemaster Goode Stuart Clark, Tipton Conservative

2014

Bill Rediger, Dyersville Commercial Irene Wilcox, Madrid Register-News Connie Wagner, Sheldon N'West Iowa Review

2015

Rox Laird, Des Moines Register Larry Peterson, Creston News Advertiser Michael Giudicessi, Faegre Baker Daniels

2016

Bruce Binning, Denison Bulletin & Review Chris Mudge, Iowa Newspaper Association Vicky Decker, Seymour Herald

2017

Michael Bugeja, Iowa State University Deb Geisler, Jefferson Herald Doug Melvold, Maquoketa Sentinel-Press Scott Sundstrom, (former) INA lobbyist

2018

Scott Spurgeon, Bloomfield Democrat Don Dauterive, Iowa Falls Times Citizen

2019

Dorine Peterson, Creston News Perry Bell, Knoxville Journal Express Nick Workman, Ottumwa Courier

2020

Nancy Steburg, Kossuth County Advance Mark Witherspoon, Iowa State Daily

2022

Steve Plain, Marshalltown Times-Republican

2023

Lyle Muller
Mark Ridolfi, Eldridge North Scott Press