Better Newspaper Contests

2016 Newspaper of the Year, the Des Moines Register

See complete 2016 contest results

The annual Better Newspaper Contests foster excellence through competition among like-sized newspapers. Member newspaper submit thousands of entries in news, writing, advertising and digital categories. Judging is performed by other state newspaper associations, with winners announced during the annual convention. Points awarded to the winners of select categories are used to determine the newspaper awarded the coveted title of Newspaper of the Year.

2017 Contest Timeline

September 7 & 21, 2016 - Distribute 2017 Call for Entries in INA Bulletin

October 14, 2016 - Contest entry deadline

November 2016 - Contest entries judged by Colorado Press Association members

December 2016 - Winners notified by INF

February 3, 2017 - Winners announced during Convention Awards Banquet

Entry Information 

Entries must have been published between Oct. 1, 2015 and Sept. 30, 2016, to be eligible.