Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award

In early 2010, the Iowa Newspaper Association announced the creation of the Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award. In creating this award, the INA’s goal was to honor long-time Aplington-Parkersburg football coach Ed Thomas, by recognizing a high school football player who has demonstrated excellent performance on the football field and exemplary character in all aspects of life.

Sports writers from newspapers across Iowa recognize high school football athletes as part of the INA All-State program. Senior football athletes are allowed to apply for the Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award if they were selected to an INA first team All-State team, have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and have zero code of conduct violations.

Award recipients are honored at their school's annual spring awards event. They receive a commemorative plaque and are featured in the Iowa Hall of Pride.

Apply for Ed Thomas Mr. Football 

Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award recognized in Iowa Hall of Pride

High school athletes who have received the INA’s prestigious Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award are now featured in an interactive kiosk at the Iowa Hall of Pride. The display includes information about the award as well as about the athletes who have received the honor to date.

The Iowa Hall of Pride, located in downtown Des Moines adjacent to the Iowa Events Center, is an interactive celebration to all that is good about Iowa. The people that are recognized at the Iowa Hall of Pride are former Iowa students who excelled in sports, on the stage, and as great ambassadors of their communities. 

Past Winners

2017 - Braydon Aker, Baxter High School
2016 - Levi Jungling, Pella Christian
2015 - Noah Clayberg, Pella
2014 - Garret Jansen, Pella
2013 - Brandon Snyder, West Lyon
2012 - Andrew Wellik, Emmetsburg 
2011 - John Sievert, St. Ansgar High School 
2010 - Connor Bravard, Dowling Catholic